TIMES THEY ARE ACHANGING (Chapter 1 of 2)

Made a dash to The Big Berry yesterday.  Overnight the snow had fallen ankle-deep.  The snow obliterated the highway’s centre line and the margin between pavement and gravel shoulder.  We’d had a thaw, and brief rain, earlier in the week.  It was so unfair.

We left in darkness.  The plows and sanders were operating.  By Beardmore the centre line appeared now and then.  After Beardmore it disappeared again.  At the Gorge Creek Road, conditions changed dramatically.  The Nipigon contingent had started sanding hours earlier, and the snow had thawed to a mushy consistency.  No plows out, though, but the driving improved.

Olga and I had things on our mind.  We had dental appointments.  I might be losing a wisdom tooth.  At my age I cannot afford to lose any more.  Wisdom, I mean.  Teeth too.  Olga was expecting to learn she’d have to have all her lower teeth extracted and acquire an implant.  We’d have to come up with thousands of dollars for the work.

We had Shiloh with us.  Our canine companion of ten years.  She had unexplained bleeding from the mouth.  If it came to a veterinary bill of thousands, I’d have to choose between her and Olga.  No contest, really.  Olga could gum it the rest of her life. 

Shiloh when younger & lighter

Just kidding, folks.  But the thought of losing Shiloh depressed us both.  More depressing was the radio news: the aftermath of Japan’s tsunami and the threat of nuclear meltdown . . .  the successes of Ghadafi’s military against lightly armed Libyan civilians.

After Nipigon, we crossed another invisible boundary, and the highway became instantaneously snow-free.  Nothing but bare pavement all the way to Thunder Bay.  What the hell.

We called at the animal clinic. 

(Post continued on Monday).

About EJ Lavoie

Writer and independent publisher with website www.WhiskyJackPublishing.ca
This entry was posted in NATURE and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to TIMES THEY ARE ACHANGING (Chapter 1 of 2)

  1. I’d say to all of that weather—leave the province.
    As for teeth and dogs, they are only with us for part of the way. It’s hard to loose a dog. I always told my ex: you or the dog is an easy choice.
    Lucky you still got your wisdom teeth; I lost those decades ago!

    • EJ Lavoie says:

      I suppose it’s true that Canadians are obsessed with weather. I shudder at the prospect of parting with my weather. Better than tsunamis or nuclear meltdowns.
      As for my teeth, they are a legacy from my late parents. We grew up dirt poor (Who hasn’t?) but they saw I got the best dental care available — I and my three siblings. When I think of the sacrifices they made, I am humbled and awe-struck.
      I have often written about my teeth and my weather. I’m proud of both.
      P.S. Shiloh is fine.

Leave a Reply

