THE OVERWHELM = FLOOD

98 Book Marketing Blog HopYes, I’m still reporting on the weather, the only drama in my life.

Well, okay, alright, there are other exciting things happening ̶ I published my second novel, Geraldton Back Doors, last month, and I’m punching a new book into shape, Greenstone’s Believe It or Not!, to publish later this month, but, when it comes to drama, the weather suffices.

Magnet Creek culvert in full flood - June 5

Magnet Creek culvert in full flood – June 5

During the 30 days of the Book Marketing Challenge, someone somewhere (perhaps not even on the Book Challenge) used the term “overwhelm” as a noun, so I thought I’d try it out. Not bad:

“I was overwhelmed by the flood of information in the Book Challenge” is what I’d normally say, but with this neologism, I can say “The overwhelm of the Book Challenge staggered me.” Not bad, eh?

That “eh” is a clue ̶ yes, I am Canadian. I live in a remote corner of the wilderness and therefore rarely associate with other writers and I struggle with Internet practices and protocols. When I started blogging, I didn’t know which end was up.   I had the conviction that I was a writer and therefore had something to blog about. Here is my first post as a blogger:

1 – 2010 Sep 4 – MAIDEN POST

Okay. I’m no longer a virgin blogger. This is my first post.

I’m a writer. Used to be a teacher. Now retired. And still teaching – as a writer. Sometimes I have only one student (aka reader), and that’s I (aka me). Can you tell I was an English teacher? Yeah, I know – I was a pain in the ass. If you’re also a student (aka reader), you have a remedy. You can switch me off.

If you have a high tolerance for pain, watch this space.”

Over a coupla years, I did write a lot of things about writing in general and my writing in particular, but I also wrote about the dramas in my life. By that time, I knew which end was down, but I still wasn’t, and still am not, up ̶ if you know what I mean.

At this point in my life as a blogger, I have apparently decided that my blog is about my personal-life dramas, and if it touches upon my other lives, well, that’s a bonus.

So, I am now going to give you a weather report to illustrate what I mean.

The long-awaited long weekend in Canada, the harbinger of spring, when the fishes of the Northern lakes are agape with anticipation, when their jaws droop open to swallow the tasty lures tossed by tens of thousands of fishers ̶ that weekend began on Friday, May 16.

However. All our major lakes were frozen. The big lake on which Olga and I have our big cabin, did not permit a boat launch until Monday the 19th.

Since that weekend, we have had a mixture of freezing temperatures and snow-slush-falls and rarely, rarely, warm sunny days. The first week of June we have had record rainfalls and some catastrophic failures of government infrastructure, i.e., culverts and roads.

Downstream, banks overwhelmed . . .

Downstream, banks overwhelmed . . .

I have documented one near catastrophe not far from our home. One of Canada’s two transnational highways, Highway 11, passes less than a mile from our place. It crosses Magnet Creek, and no driver ever deigns (Lovely word, that “deigns”, eh?) to glance at it. Here are photos from three days ago:

The fury is a normally placid stream . . .

The fury in a normally placid stream . . .

I have personally never seen the waters of Magnet Creek so high, and I’ve been glancing at it ̶ deliberately ̶ since 1953.

Coincidentally, two weeks ago, everyone in the vicinity got a notice that the government is replacing the Magnet Creek culvert this summer. This decision had to have been taken last year at the earliest, but more likely ten or fifteen years ago.

Now, yesterday, I remarked

Normal high water on June 5 . . .

Normal high water on June 5 . . .

that the waters of Magnet Creek have receded. They are pretty well at a normal high for this time of year.

Wha’ happened? I dunno. The culvert is intact. The waters are unfolding as per usual.

 

 

High water, but the banks have emerged . . . June 7

High water, but the banks have emerged . . . June 7

Now, let me relate this to the Book Challenge.

The first few days of the Challenge, I was staggered by the overwhelm. Staggered, but not defeated. I staggered on, and on, to the end. Weekly I noted the decreasing tug of the current. Sometimes I was actually floating, feeling the rush, brain cells agape with anticipation.

Today I can look back and say, wow. Wow wow wow. What an experience.

Almost as exciting as a weather report.

Okay, I’m kidding.

It was an overwhelm, D’vorah. But a welcome one.

98f GBD front cover 570x850 BR (2)

About EJ Lavoie

Writer and independent publisher with website www.WhiskyJackPublishing.ca
This entry was posted in GREENSTONE, KENNET FORBES MYSTERIES, NATURE, WRITING and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to THE OVERWHELM = FLOOD

  1. Gina says:

    A flood of inspiring information is a good analogy for what we experienced with the Book Marketing Challenge. My best wishes are with you on your book marketing journey.

    Thank you for visiting my blog and commenting.

Leave a Reply

