NO BLOODY GOOD ANYMORE

Front: Blood group O . . . Rh-Negative . . . "Carry this card with you always" . . . Well, I did.

Front: Blood group O . . . Rh-Negative . . . “Carry this card with you always” . . . Well, I did.

As I was getting bloodwork done in the lab today, I thought, Why not?

I have been carrying this card around in my wallet for half a century now.

It is the worse for wear.

So, why not get it renewed?

The lab technician laughed.

Okay, it was more of a chortle, but I was relieved that it was not a guffaw.

If I were admitted to hospital after an accident, she said, they would test my blood immediately. The card is no good anymore.

Back: "Show this card to doctor in charge." Well, I would have, if I were bleeding.

Back: “Show this card to doctor in charge.” Well, I would have, if I were bleeding.

She suggested that I remove it from my wallet and keep it as a curiosity.

Good idea.

Perhaps I should re-examine that condom that kept it company . . . heh, heh.

Interior: "BLOOD TESTED 26.4.67" And many times since, but this is the only card I ever got. I'll miss it.

Interior: “BLOOD TESTED 26.4.67” And many times since, but this is the only card I ever got. I’ll miss it.

About EJ Lavoie

Writer and independent publisher with website www.WhiskyJackPublishing.ca
This entry was posted in LIFE AS IT HAPPENS and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

